Mercenarylight’s Blog

A hybrid mix between music, portable gaming and blogging

►What’s in the Playlist: One Step Closer by Linkin Park

Posted by Mercenary Spark on August 2, 2008

Well, my vacation’s almost over, in a few days, I’ll have to return to school. To let you know how I feel about it, I picked one of my favorite songs for the playlist this week. One Step Closer is the second song on Linkin Park’s first album [Hybrid Theory] (back when they rocked and rapped more). It has screaming, overall heavy sound and extremely angry, powertful lyrics. The song’s meaning is self-expalanatory, the guy’s angry at someone because (s)he keeps on talking, which brings him ‘one step closer to the edge’. He tried to ignore him/her but finally breaks and yells the person to shut up. The video shows a guy and a girl following a hooded, masked man towards an underground tunnel where the band is playing and other masked men are doing a sort of rite (or just dancing).

Rating: 9/10 – One of my favorite Linkin Park songs, always there on my mp3 player. Also the song is followed up by With You, another hard rocking song. You have to love the Shut Up part (so many people you would want to yell that to). 💡 The song is available In the Corner.

Lyrics and Video: [Warning: If it’s late in the evening, you don’t want to disturb someone else and/or you don’t like screaming, turn your computer’s volume down before listening to the song.]

I cannot take this anymore
I’m saying everything I’ve said before
All these words they make no sense
I find bliss in ignorance
Less I hear the less you’ll say
You’ll find that out anyway
Just like before…

Everything you say to me
Takes me one step closer to the edge
And I’m about to break
I need a little room to breathe
Cause I’m one step closer to the edge
And I’m about to break

I find the answers aren’t so clear
Wish I could find a way to disappear
All these thoughts they make no sense
I find bliss in ignorance
Nothing seems to go away
Over and over again
Just like before…

Everything you say to me
Takes me one step closer to the edge
And I’m about to break
I need a little room to breathe
Cause I’m one step closer to the edge
And I’m about to break

Shut up when I’m talking to you

Everything you say to me
Takes me one step closer to the edge
And I’m about to break
I need a little room to breathe
Cause I’m one step closer to the edge
And I’m about to break.

6 Responses to “►What’s in the Playlist: One Step Closer by Linkin Park”

  1. i still prefer in the end

  2. My favorite’s Numb, but I like this song.

  3. I’ll have to check out Numb.

  4. It’s before One Step Closer and it’s great.

  5. Linkin Park has good songs, but when you constantly hear them everywhere you go they get pretty old.

    What’s funny is that wherever I go I always hear songs from the first two CD’s, and not from their latest one (I guess because M2M has curse words in it). Minutes to Midnight hasn’t gotten old on me yet, but HT and M already did in 2004 🙂

  6. The first 2 have better songs that most fans like. I’m not tired of them, because I began listening last year.

    ‘Ironically’ M2M sells more. My friends mostly know What I’ve Done for being on the Transformers movie.

Leave a Reply

 
